Alpha Strike Battle Report

Hand still broken. Fun!

Nonetheless, my brother (ktforg, not one of the other 4..) was down from Seattle this week. We rolled up his character for the upcoming LotFP game, and I managed to get in another quickie test game of Alpha strike with him. Like a dumbass, I forgot to charge my phone before we left, so no pics of the game, although there are some of the materials. Forces were a Kurita Lance (Atlas -D, Dragon -1N, Panther -9R, Locust -1V) against the Steiner lace from a few posts back with a stock Marauder -3R swapped out for the Wolverine.

IMG_20131112_163551_181
Dramatis Personae. Yes, the Butcher is still incomplete. *sigh*

He took the Elsies and had a slight points advantage along with more access to Overheaters, but I had the only jumper. Even with the 3025 tech, it made for an interesting game. It ended up only taking about 40 minutes, and came down to some pretty tight dice rolls in the end. First blood went to him, with the Commando gutting my Locust with a backshot even as I missed one on his Marauder. Leter, his Banshee ate an ammo crit on the first point of struc damage and the Marauder overheated heavily on a gamble of a shot that failed. Meanwhile, my Dragon hung on with only one point of Struc left far longer than it should have, and the Atlas was down to two struc itself, but in the end I managed to punch the MAD to death and he was staring down a cripped-up Atlas and a virgin Panther with just a crippled COM-1D Commando (a weapons and a fire-control crit), so we called it.

Opinions:
• Adding in forced retreat rules would have made this game a 10-minute tie. The Atlas, MAD, Banshee, and Dragon would all have had to retreat long before they were lost, and the Banshee might well have survived without the Dragon pecking at its ass for three turns. The rules would be very harsh on Lights and mediums, however, and I think I’d revise it to “Half of their original structure or less remaining”. I’m now certain I could run some of the more gonzo missions in the old BT mission books in an afternoon with no problem at all (I’d have to add in some way of reflecting the busted-ass ‘Mechs in some of the scenarios, like that one Irregular with the no-rear-armor Rifleman or the poor girl with the prematurely firing Griffin).
• That -1E Locust is a whore to actually kill once it finds some woods to play in. I needed 4 turns of continuous fire to kill it, and it finally died to a charge from the Atlas rather than weapons fire (since the additional cover modifier didn’t apply at that point).
• On that note, Light mechs’ semi-abusive evasion advantage can be at least partially negated by melee. Since most only have 2 0r 3 armor, a TSM Medium with jets would likely be able to catch them and wreck their collective faces.
• The custom cards I made worked excellently: you can fit and track an entire Lance on a single 3×5 card, which beats the Hell out of the official cards. I need three for a Company instead of 12.Alpha Strike Cards

I’m starting to like AS for this:
IMG_20131112_161620_958
This is all I need to play a complete company-level game – a 5×8″ case and 3 3×5 cards, along with 12 paperclips.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

