Smackdown and run.

Had a fun game of Battletech  – first actual tabletop fight in about 4 years – last night.
My opponent’s busy working up a play-by-play right now, but here’s the basics:
Gaussapult (based on the infamous K2 rebuild from MW:O, but with the Gauss Rifles in the arms where a sane person would put’em..) versus a virtually even-matched by points Marauder MAD-5S. The Catapult is lighter, but runs cold as fuck and (with his build) had excellent armor. The Marauder, by contrast, runs a little hot, though not as badly as some of the other models,and is a very thin-skinned beast. Both have identical movement profiles, and a nearly-identical selection and power of armament. The K2A mounts 2 Gauss Rifles, with 16 shots for each, and a pair of middleweight lasers.

Don't blame me, I didn't make it..

Don’t blame me, I didn’t make it..

The Marauder has a pair of long-ranged Particle Projection Cannon, a single Gauss with only 8 shots (I used six of them in the fight) and a pair of slightly more accurate/damaging lasers with a very short range.
The first several turns were a war of maneuver, with me pushing my machine a little harder than he his, and a lot of duck and cover. By the time he managed to close, I’d put several sharp hits on him in exchange for only one on myself. The dice, however, were not exactly on my side. I won initiative only twice out of more than 10 rounds of combat, and flubbed two entire rounds of exceedingly easy shots.
I eventually retreated from the field after losing the right arm and all of my right torso and leg armor to Gauss shots (basically, I was carrying a time bomb around with no armor on top – the Gauss Rifle in the torso will explode if hit, and blow up the fusion engine inside the ‘Mech). After my initiative rolls up to that point, I didn’t feel like pushing my luck. Gave as good as I got, though, and tore up my more heavily-armed opponent; his damage was more spread around, but he was on the verge of having one of his own rifles blow, not to mention his engine.

Spent part of today working on my dropship models and cleaning house, as well as working out paint schemes and various con business.

Current projects:
2 “Pard” class dropships (sawed-off Leopards, with capacity for 2 Medium ‘Mechs or 4 light vehicles and a platoon of power-armored infantry). These are using an ERTL Space shuttle as an armature, but are primarily sculpted from cheap Japanese poly-foam air drying clay and a hard external layer of JB Weld KwikWood. I’ve fallen in love with the stuff recently. It’s $3 for several ounces; similar properties to Green Stuff, but it sets in only about half an hour, and is much easier – if more toxic – to sand and carve. Holds detail remarkably well, too.
1 “Confederate” class dropship, with a modified, lower-power engine replacing the temperamental original. Carrying capacity is only 4 ‘Mechs, leaving me in need of transport assets for the other, oh, hundred and forty I own :b It’s based on a 12″ plastic Christmas ornament from Target’s bargain bin, sanded and stripped of the horrible fuschia foil that once covered it.
Repairing and refitting a wrecked Unseen Marauder II. Currently casting my master for the replacement feet and autocannon, we’ll see how she do in a couple of days. Trying the “Scriptarius” method of mold-making, until I can afford some actual tin-cure silicone and a gram scale.
Painting a converted Atlas, refitted for pitfighting. It’s about 90% done, and I’m out of sealant. Waiting on replacement matte varnish at this point.
Remounting several Mekton/Jovian Chronicles hardsuits for Battletech use. The EAL-04A Pathfinder suit will be taking the field as a “Super Wasp” experimental ‘Mech from XTRO: Succession Wars. The heavily-damaged JC Hector I had was combined with a Cerberus exo-armor’s legs to make another EAL-04/Super Wasp, and the Cerberus torso was rebuilt with a Marauder II Reseen’s Gauss rifle, Assassin legs, and a handmade missile pack to become a Super Griffin.  (Why yes, I DO plan to run some Tales of the Black Widow scenarios later, thank you for asking).
Hopefully I can get Gabe back out here for a campaign game or two, I really need to feed the Battletech itch.

Pictures forthcoming as I can be arsed.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. iangarris

     /  April 8, 2014

    Doc, would you mind posting a sheet for that gaussapult? I’m trying to make one, and having a bit of trouble coming up with one I like.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

